RSS

The epic journey to find a grain/cauli-free pizza base ….

11 May

… is an ongoing battle.

The LOML (LoveOfMyLife) is not a big fan of the cauliflower-anything. By itself he will eat it, even better when smothered with a cheese sauce. But caulimash or caulisticks or caulibase . . . no. NO. NO!

So, enter Sunday-evening and a hectic week ahead. We are considering going to get some pizza. Normal grain-based pizza. *shock* *horror*

In this desperate state of mind, I decide to try and concoct a BIY (bake it yourself) pizza base (or something similar), hoping to get as close as I can to the real thing.

I’ve added the following and mixed them all together:

1 cup Almond Flour
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon Psyllium Husk
pinch of Himalyan salt
+/- 1 tablespoon melted butter
+/- 1 heaped tablespoon smooth cottage cheese
some cream to thin the mix out

I let it stand for 5 minutes whilst I got the flat toaster warmed up. This mix makes 2.

Put a line of mix down the middle of the taster (it will spread out and flatten) and close.

Halfway done on the flat toaster

This will now be called TFB in our house – The Flat Bread/Base. Nicely toasted.

The Flat Bread/Base

Although it does not come close to a wood-fired-oven-baked-pizza-base, it’s sturdy enough to use as a pizza base as long as you don’t add too soggy ingredients. I’ve had mine with avo:

TFB with avo slices

The other one I just covered with cheese as I took it out of the toaster:

TFB with cheese

I will try and make some pizza over the weekend – using the same recipe, but baking it in the oven. Will report back.

Butternut

(seriously impressed with my ingenuity – because it was edible!)

PS: seriously shopping for a sandwich toaster with smooth plates on both sides.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 11, 2015 in Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “The epic journey to find a grain/cauli-free pizza base ….

  1. Twilight

    August 4, 2015 at 7:27 pm

    Ek sal dit sowaar bietjie probeer. Tot dusver los ons eenvoudig die basis uit en pak als op repe spek. En die blomkoolbasis/pasta/wrap ding werk GLAD nie vir my nie. Ek kry dit eenvoudig nie reg nie…

     

Leave a comment