RSS

Brewing up a storm: Ice(d) tea.

25 Apr

I like iced tea, not any brand, particularly Clover’s. But these days it all seems to have a funny taste to it. So I’ve taken to making my own.

3 liters of boiling water with 6 Rooibos tea bags

Let it stand for a few hours till nice and strong(k). You can also cook it on the stove.

Mix in 1.5 liters of clear fruit juice and add 1/2 a liter of water (all depending on how sweet your fruit juice is).

Chill and enjoy.

So far, I’ve used strawberry, pomegranate, red grape and pear & litchi.

It should also taste nice with peach or pineapple juice.

The Rooibos also acts as a powerful anti-oxidant.

ButterNut

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2012 in Cooking

 

5 responses to “Brewing up a storm: Ice(d) tea.

  1. Son

    April 25, 2012 at 9:29 am

    I HATE Rooibos tea – can I use normal tea? My favourite brand, and basically only brand of ice tea that I drink, is Lipton

     
    • ButterNut

      April 25, 2012 at 10:32 am

      You can probably use normal tea, I just like Rooibos more.

      Lipton tastes like dust to me . . .

       
  2. Toortsie

    April 26, 2012 at 7:06 am

    My ma het ook altyd vir ons ystee gemaak toe ons kinders was. Daardie tyd kon mens dit nie koop nie. Dis lekker.
    Ek is lief vir die gewone gegeurde pakkies rooibostee. Enige geur. Ek drink dit sonder suiker en melk.

     
    • ButterNut

      April 26, 2012 at 7:09 am

      Hi Toortsie, ek is nie lief vir tee as sulks nie, maar dis goed vir jou. Nou drink ek dit maar so, gemeng met vrugtesap.

      Het juis vanoggend ‘n nuwe “mix” aangemaak met rooi druiwesap, nogal sag op die tong.

       

Leave a Reply

 
