RSS

The last thing you can do for humanity.

15 May

I know that it would be the last thing on our mind when a loved one dies, whether in an accident or due to illness. I really understand.

One seldom think of the thousands of babies, children and adults on the transplant lists. Waiting.

Feeling guilty because they’re waiting for someone to die so that they can get a new chance at life. A new beginning. Nonetheless, waiting, hoping, praying.

One way would probably be to think of it as giving your loved one another chance, by letting their heart/kidneys/liver/lungs/corneas live on in another. Helping someone else, giving joy to other parents/spouses/children.

One could also probably think that yours was taken, why should they find joy? Why would you help them out?

Because you can. Because they need it. Because you would create a legacy by “giving life” to another.

There’s no guarantees. But, I for one> don’t think that children should die. They should be able to live. They are innocent. They are life.

I know this won’t change anything, but should you be in that position where you have to say goodbye to a loved one, please consider donating their organs.

Please think about this.

Please do the right thing.

South Africans can register here: BECOME AN ORGAN DONOR AND SAVE SEVEN LIVES

ButterNut

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2012 in Ramblings

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “The last thing you can do for humanity.

  1. thehappyhugger

    May 15, 2012 at 6:12 pm

    Good post, thanks BN.
    *hugs*

     
  2. Flenters

    May 16, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    I am one and have been for some time

     
    • ButterNut

      May 17, 2012 at 7:07 am

      I’m glad! I’ve registered in 2009 and informed my family so that they know.

       
  3. Son

    May 18, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    I am one since I don’t know when already – everybody in my family knows this and they also know that after the doctors took everything useful to give to the living, they must cremate what’s left of me and throw the ashes in the sea and have a ‘motherless’ party. because that was just a body, my soul will live on ♪ ♪ Don’t cry because I’m dead, party because I lived 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
