RSS

Cutting and burning . . .

22 Jun

I cook almost every day. Over weekends, twice a day, all depending on what we’re having.

At this stage I have 3 plasters/band aids on my hands.

The thumb on my left hand, I tried to amputate on Sunday whilst cutting sweet potato. The very sharp little knife just slipped through the potato and cut into my finger. Fu . . . damn, did it bleed! The cut was fairly deep and it took a while for the bleeding to stop. Thus, plaster on left hand.

Last night, I pinched a piece of boiled potato between two of the fingers on my left hand. It left two blisters, one each on the insides of my indicator/pointing andย middle fingers. The blister on my middle finger stood out to about 2 mm’s. Damn, that was sore. Thus, 2 plasters on right hand.

I am not that clumsy, but @ least once a week I either burn or cut myself whilst cooking/preparing food.

This was a double accident week.

Methinks I should stop cooking . . . that would be the easiest way to stop getting injured in the kitchen.

Anyone knows of a millionaire that would like to cook for me for fun?

ButterNut

 
12 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2012 in Cooking, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , ,

12 responses to “Cutting and burning . . .

  1. dirkiedoep

    June 22, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    Stuur die Miljoenรชr ook hierdiekant toe, asb.
    Maar jy mag maar drome droom. Ek bewonder jou met al daardie etes wat jy maak. Waar bly jy? Wou sommer opskep loer.!!

     
    • ButterNut

      June 22, 2012 at 12:31 pm

      Waar bly ek? By my man, natuurlik! ๐Ÿ˜€

       
  2. melouisef

    June 22, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    I have learnt to be very very careful because once I start to bleed I don’t stop (no I am not a bleeder)
    ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

     
    • ButterNut

      June 22, 2012 at 2:40 pm

      I stop eventually, but I have no pain threshold. (Yes, I’s a pissy!) I don’t like getting hurt.

       
  3. Toortsie

    June 22, 2012 at 7:12 pm

    Klink my tyd vir ‘n bietjie uiteet!

     
    • ButterNut

      June 24, 2012 at 11:53 am

      Ek dink ook so! ๐Ÿ˜‰

       
  4. Son

    June 23, 2012 at 7:24 pm

    Ek HAAT kook! Maar ek sal berge skottelgoed was met ‘n smile. Met my hande, ja. As ek alleen bly, eet ek maklik net Cream Crackers en Kaas, of sulke ‘maklike’ kos.

     
    • ButterNut

      June 24, 2012 at 11:52 am

      Ek hou van maklike kos! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Ek is nie mal oor skottelgoed was nie, maar as ek doen, is dit terapie . . .

       
  5. Kameel

    June 25, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    Well, with both hands out of action it seems to me like a good excuse to sit and read book without going on a quilt trip. ๐Ÿ˜‰

     
    • ButterNut

      June 26, 2012 at 6:46 am

      Yeah baby!! I like how you think . . . hubby’s not going to be impressed, though. ๐Ÿ˜‰

       
  6. mukhtarm1

    June 29, 2012 at 1:37 pm

    I see a pattern here…stop cooking potato..both sweet and the usual variety. Also, stop using a very sharp knife – better yet – buy ready cut veggies at pick and pay. If all else fails, send Husband/Boyfriend for cooking lesson at Northlink College Cooking school – they have some very tasty culinary courses ๐Ÿ™‚ If that still does not make cooking safer, let me know, I will send my personal Butler over a couple of days a week :-)…

     
    • ButterNut

      June 29, 2012 at 2:09 pm

      Kewl!! That would be so much appreciated!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

       

Leave a Reply

 
