RSS

Who listens to the listener?

31 Dec

I believe that everyone has a role in life.

We’re not all the same, we don’t react the same, we don’t take the same from the same situations. We don’t see the same things, we don’t hear the same from what’s being said.

All the people I know are talkers. Talkers are not listeners. They talk. Mostly about themselves or situations involving themselves. They love to have someone to listen. Don’t get me wrong, they do sometimes listen if the commentary is about them. But they talk, they don’t listen.

My role here is listening. And I listen. To all kinds and all situations. I play my part. I listen.

The only problem is: the listener does not have someone to listen to them on the odd chance that they need to talk to someone.

The listener, being so used to the role, can’t stand up and say “listen do me, dammit, I also need to talk”. Because the talkers don’t listen.

It’s lonely.

ButterNut

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 31, 2012 in Ramblings

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Who listens to the listener?

  1. 68ghia

    December 31, 2012 at 9:07 am

    Quite right BB.
    Which is why we blog – more talkers than listeners out there. And we all deserve to be heard one way or the other.
    So write it down dear – we’ll read it.

     
    • ButterNut

      December 31, 2012 at 9:09 am

      Thank you for your comment. When it doesn’t hurt as much, I’ll try and pen it down.

       
      • 68ghia

        December 31, 2012 at 9:11 am

        One thing I’ve experienced – sometimes, writing through the tears is kind of cathartic.
        But we’re a patient lot – when you’re ready so will we be.

         
  2. Toortsie

    January 7, 2013 at 8:58 am

    Ek weet ek is ‘n prater. Maar soms, tussen praters, voel ek ook so!! Kan jy glo?
    Maar ek kan ook luister, dis dalk iets wat ek myself aangeleer het, maar ek kan nogals luister. So my vriend, ‘n epos kan ook doen!!
    Baie sterkte. Dis ‘n uitstekende post.

     

Leave a Reply

 
