RSS

I’m a bad, bad person . . . #ranting-and-raving Warning: extremely foul language!

07 May

You have been warned! So, if you read on, it’s on your own head. No requests for councelling fees will be answered.

After an extremely hard day at the office (being in the midst of a four week visit from the auditors, demands from all sides, dealing with queries from people who are too lazy to think for themselves), I stop at Woolworths for the weekly veggies. Why I do my veggie shoping at WW is quite another post by itself. And I won’t feel bad about it.

In the bread isle, I was confronted by a scruffy looking man/woman with a pack of Huggies in the hand. With a sign. That said: I’m a deaf mute. Please help me by buying these nappies for my baby.

Really!?! In the middle of WW? Really??

Fuck. My first reaction is almost always: Sorry, I don’t have any cash. This is my standard response. I will give when I feel the need to give, not when I am forced or emotionally blackmailed to do so. On my own terms. After all, charity begins at home, doesn’t it? I help family members, coworkers and whomever I see with a need that I feel drawn to.

I will NOT be emotionally forced to give when I don’t want to.

In the middle of WW?? Really?? Fuck. There’s quite a few wellfare organisations and churches in the area. As well as clinics. Why the fuck do you get a baby if you don’t have a job? How the fuck can you bring a child into this world that you can’t support??

*dinner break*

Ok, my ranting have lost steam. It’s just not worth it.

Fuck.

BBNut(ter)

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 7, 2013 in Ramblings

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “I’m a bad, bad person . . . #ranting-and-raving Warning: extremely foul language!

  1. Flenters

    May 7, 2013 at 7:49 pm

    *duck* (at least it rhymes……..)

    But so does agree with pee

     
  2. 68ghia

    May 8, 2013 at 10:11 am

    And if you’re really poor – use cloth nappies. Or cloth for that matter.
    My point of view in this is – my kids did not get disposable nappies and there’s absolutely nothing wrong with them, so you can too…

     
    • ButterNut

      May 8, 2013 at 10:35 am

      Thank you!!

      If it was me, I would have cut a towel in half (even if it was my only one) and use that for nappies. But I would NOT beg!

       
      • 68ghia

        May 8, 2013 at 10:41 am

        In many of these situations, closed legs would probably have been best, but, I suppose, if you don’t have money, no electricity, no tv… what else is there to do 😉

         
  3. Louisa

    May 8, 2013 at 3:08 pm

    I’d be annoyed too…and if we was really that hard up, why didn’t he try to raise funds in a place where they are more reasonably priced anyhoo?

     
  4. colourmecrazee

    May 8, 2013 at 3:29 pm

    i totally know what you mean. i’m a very giving person and also a very sensitive person, but over the years i almost had to become a bit hard to protect myself from everything.

    but yes, my husband and i were talking about it the other day. the begging is actually getting worse – especially if you’re out on the road a lot and in public a lot. yes, of course the need is great, and yes, of course we all want to help and i’m sure we all help where we can, but there are also so many con artists out there – you just can’t seem to go anywhere without people harassing you all the time. where i stay there is a young guy at every single robot at every single big intersection. and then you have so called car guards harassing you everywhere you go. and i don’t want to hear the story about all the car guards who have degrees and they are professors and doctors etc etc – i think those are few and far between.

    but i hear you and i agree with you – i think the problem is the sense of entitlement and the manipulation that gets to us. we have to deal with A LOT in our lives and use the strength we get in the morning to carry us through the day, so this constant badgering and stories and manipulation does get to you.

    i grew up in a ministry home, so i was used to giving and helping and it’s also my nature, but unfortunately we can all tell stories about people who conned us, so everyone should work it out for themselves how and where they want to help. the begging on the street (and in shops it seems) are getting out of hand – what to do?

     
  5. vlamkind

    May 22, 2013 at 10:16 am

    I know how you feel. I got stopped in Pick and Pay twice the other day (in the same shopping session). One guy just jumped in front of me at the cheese section and casually pointing at the entire cheese section he said: “You buy for me? I don’t have money.” My first thought was “Buy what? Does this guy want the entire cheese section? ” If you are going to beg, at least be polite!!!

    Ten minutes later I was stopped by a well-spoken young man asking me to buy nappies for his baby. (I agree with the cloth nappies and/or closed legs.) By this time I was very annoyed so I gave him my standard response that I don’t have any cash (and I didn’t). You get emotionally blackmailed in parking lots, at robots, garages and even at liquor stores and now in WW and Pick and Pay too! I don’t mind giving, but,like Butternut, I prefer to do it on my own terms.

    I got scammed and shouted at by beggars (and even hit once) too many times so I give when my heart tells me to. It is something that has been on my mind for a while now.

     
    • ButterNut

      May 22, 2013 at 10:27 am

      Jip! Thanx for visiting!

       

Leave a Reply

 
