RSS

Daily Prompt: Bookworm

19 Jun

Tell us about the last book you read (Why did you choose it? Would you recommend it?).

Well, currently I’m out of reading material. No, that’s a lie. I have +/- 5000 e-books available at my fingertips. But no books/stories that are currently waiting with baited breath to be read. No stories calling me, longing to be held and read.

I usually read two or more books at a time, depending on how I feel. If it’s a gripping read, I’ll finish it on it’s own. If it’s not, I’ll start reading something else as well.

I’m a compulsive reader. I read everything! Literally everything. I don’t always take it in, but I read it. Or at least scan it. My little bit of OCD.

I’ve recently read (finished alone – one by one):

  • The hundred year old man by Jonas Jonasson (nice and weird)
  • Theodore Boone – The Activist by John Grisham (nice enough)
  • Inferno by Dan Brown (a bit disappointing)
  • Deeply Odd by Dean Koontz (ok’ish)
  • The Childhood of Jesus – JM Coetzee (very weird)
  • I am Ozzy – Ozzy Osbourne (interesting read and very funny)
  • Die blou van onthou – Marita van der Vyver (talked to my heart)
  • My kort vir jou sop – compiled by Trisa Hugo – short stories (some interesting, some not)
  • Winter of the World – Ken Follett (cool)
  • Fall of Giants – Ken Follett (cool)
  • Stonehenge – Bernard Cornwell (loooong read)
  • Song of Fire and Ice – George RR Martin (A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, A Feast of Crows, A Dance with Dragons) – (very, very cool!)
  • The Long Earth – Terry Pratchett (ok’ish)
  • Jack of Diamonds – Bryce Courtenay

Half-read:

  • Napalm and Silly Putty by George Carlin
  • Motherhood, the second oldest profession – Erna Bombeck
  • Philida – André P Brink
  • Die Besoeker – A Troskie
  • Outlander – Diana Gabaldon
  • Jackdaws – Ken Follett
  • Jeremy Clarkson – various
  • The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
  • Saxon 1 – The Last Kingdom – Bernard Cornwell
  • When will Jesus bring the pork chops? – George Carlin
  • Wilt – Tom Sharpe
  • Who moved my Cheese – Spencer Johnson

Audio-book in the car:

  • The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson (almost finished) – depressing life in North Korea

Waiting on my reader:

  • Joyland by Stephen King
  • Wally Lamb’s 4 books which I’ve downloaded this morning – (I know this much is true, She’s come undone, The hour I first believed, Wishin’ and Hopin’)

Waiting for publication:

  • The Winds of Winter – A Song of Fire & Ice – George RR Martin
  • A Dream of Spring – A Song of Fire & Ice – George RR Martin
  • The Long War – Terry Pratchett

Books that I still want to buy to add to my collection:

  • Turtle Recall – Terry Pratchett
  • The world of Poo – Terry Pratchett

Yup, you did not believe me when I said I’m a compulsive reader, did you? I also read blogs, newspapers, interesting websites, handbooks (studying again), work documents, manuals, emails. I would shrivel up and die if I could not read. Kid you not. I really don’t want to prove this, but believe me, I would shrivel up and die a slow and agonizing death.

Books have always been my escape and my release. My salvation. Keeping me sane.

Who do you enjoy reading?

Butter(book)nut

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2013 in Reading

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Daily Prompt: Bookworm

  1. Son

    June 19, 2013 at 2:52 pm

    Ek kan maar net sowel hierdie post van jou gedoen het. Amen 😉

    Ek lees nou Wally Lamb – I know this much is true” Sukkel maar met hom

     
    • ButterNut

      June 19, 2013 at 3:17 pm

      Ek hang bietjie terug, is nie nou lus om te sukkel met ‘n boek nie.

       
      • Son

        June 19, 2013 at 4:00 pm

        Dis ‘n moeg maak boek

         
  2. 68ghia

    June 20, 2013 at 9:22 am

    You’ve made me jealous of all the new Terry Pratchetts out there!!!
    I’m hoping that I will shortly have a decent job so I can buy myself the rest of his collection – in hard copy. Him and Stephen King only in hard copy, never e book.
    Enjoy the lot you’ve got going there B – seems like a huge handful!!

     
    • ButterNut

      June 20, 2013 at 11:02 am

      Hi, I just ♥ Terry Pratchett!! I have almost all his books, some in soft cover though. Beggars can’t be choosers.

      But for me, his Discworld books were the best ever. Have not made my mind up about his new books yet.

       
      • 68ghia

        June 20, 2013 at 11:35 am

        Discworld forever.
        Sam Vimes is quite the man of my dreams!!

         
  3. Louisa

    June 21, 2013 at 8:56 am

    I am busy with the Fall of Giants at the moment! So far I’m really enjoying it. (watching Game of Thrones in between too, but I haven’t read the books yet).

     

Leave a Reply

 
