RSS

Daily Prompt: Morality Play

25 Jun

Where do your morals come from — your family? Your faith? Your philosophical worldview? How do you deal with those who don’t share them, or derive them from a different source?

Morals. Values. Doing the right thing, always.

Some of my morals/values comes from my mother. Like working hard at your job. Always. Even if you don’t like it, you do it to the best of your abilities.

Mostly, my morals were established from different situations and different influences in my life. I follow the basics: do not kill, do not envy, honor thy elders, do not lie, be faithful, be true, be open, listen, work hard, keep on learning, share, support, lead. I treat others as I expect them to treat me, how I would want to be treated. And it gets added to as I observe people in all situations: work, friends, family, general population.

I see what they do and I decide not to repeat it. EVER.

I tend to distance myself from those that do not have the same morals as I do. If I can’t marry their values to mine, I do not want to spend time with them (if they can’t even follow the basics – which is not that difficult, what do we have in common?).

I’m not saying my morals/values are the correct ones, I’m just saying that they’re the right ones for me. They keep me out of trouble and out of difficult situations.

Example: if I say something about you behind your back, I would also say it to your face. Because that’s how I feel about what you’ve done. And my opinion won’t change whether it’s said to you or about you. So if I were to be asked if what I said was true, I would confirm it. Because that’s how I feel/felt.

Morals/values to me, are not negotiable.

Butter-true-Nut

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 25, 2013 in Post a day, Ramblings

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Daily Prompt: Morality Play

  1. colourmecrazee

    June 25, 2013 at 10:03 am

    mmm, i’ve had this conversation often. i always believed it was my “religion” and faith that gave me the morals, but i no longer believe it. it’s definitely a combination of a few things – it’s like EQ as well, you have it or you don’t have it. i suppose you were born with a sense of it …

    my husband and i come from different race groups and different religions, and we feel exactly the same about morals …

     
  2. Flenters

    June 25, 2013 at 10:12 am

    Moral values are probably the sum total of a variety of inputs – most by parents, but also by teachers, pastors, friends and role models. I also believe that the ability to honour moral values is a genetic ability

     

Leave a Reply

 
