RSS

What do I have to barter with?

10 Jul

If the world worked on a barter system, how would you fare? Would you have services to barter? Would you be successful, or would you struggle?

According to me, the world DOES work on a barter system. There’s no such thing as a free lunch and everybody needs to earn a living. Something for something, not nothing for something. Even if the price is not even implied, it is there.

I pitch at work and either work or pretend that I work. At the end of the month my input is measured and my boss then decides to either pay me or pretend to pay me. Something for something.

If we were living in a world without money, I know a lot of people who would die. They won’t be able to build their own “houses” or even a lean-to. They would expect people to provide for them – purely for the benefit of knowing them.

I would do anything I can to provide for my family. Anything being either making something to fulfill a need of someone else or doing a vital task that they would reward me for. I would be completely happy receiving food/clothes/commodities in exchange for my products/services.

I am multi-skilled, so I think I would be able to survive.

Butcher, Baker and Candlestickmaker

Butcher, baker and candlestick maker.

Butter-BBCM-Nut

PS: And I would definitely marry my husband again, he can do ANYTHING!! 😀

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2013 in Post a day, Ramblings

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “What do I have to barter with?

  1. Toortsie

    July 10, 2013 at 7:19 am

    Ek dink nogals ek sou ook oorleef… 😉

     
    • ButterNut

      July 10, 2013 at 7:46 am

      Jip, do or die, is dit nie?

       
      • Toortsie

        July 10, 2013 at 7:47 am

        Absoluut. Ook Jack of all trades, master of none. Maar dis juis dit wat ons gaan laat oorleef!

         
  2. Adoonsie

    July 10, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    Ek sal ook kan oorleef. In fact soos ek nou oor my huidige werk voel sal so ‘n barter system my eintlik baie goed pas.

     
  3. The Hotel Barter Network

    August 6, 2013 at 6:45 am

    i would struggle at first, but would adapt

     

Leave a Reply

 
