RSS

Fandom? No, thank you.

12 Jul

Are you a sports fan? Tell us about fandom. If you’re not, tell us why not.

I  might be coerced to watch snippets of Wimbledon(m), the Tour de France, the Olympics (summer, winter and special), the Comrades and such; all depending on who’s watching with me. I do not watch cricket, golf, tennis, bowls and soccer. No, not even when Bafana Bafana is playing.

I might watch some rugby games (whichever ones my hubby’s watching) and might make a special effort to check in when the Springboks are playing.

Sport was never big in our house growing up. My parents did not watch it, so neither did I. I played netball from grade five to grade 11 (for the various grades’ A teams), but the-one-who-called-himself-my-father made me stop when I was in matric. I would have played for the 1st team that year. @sshole.

I live in Blue Bull Country: Pretoria.

blue bulls

I started getting interested in rugby in matric because my husband-to-be played rugby and when I was allowed, I went to watch his games. I also supported him when he played student rugby at Technicon.

When I was younger, I used to support the Bulls. I even had a Blue Bulls flag and shirt. I EVEN went to watch a game on Loftus once. I guess this is where the aversion to sport fans started.

People spoiled rugby for me. Fans. Supporters.

Not only Blue Bulls supporters, but supporters of most other SA Super 15 rugby teams.

When “they” lose a game, it’s always either the referee’s or the other teams underhandedness’s fault, never their own. When “they” win, and the other team’s supporters are claiming the same reasons, they’re made off as bad losers. And boo’ed.

Not only that, but they get really, really nasty. Really, Really nasty. Not only verbally, but on social media as well. I’ve seen people react in ways that I would NEVER have attributed to them. Ways that made me cringe for their sake. I guess that’s when the true colours come out.

And so I try and avoid people like that. And thus the sport they support.

Since we’ve become friends with Graatjie and the General, we’ve been exposed to POWERLIFTING. Like every sport it has it’s own special kind of participants and supporters. Cheerers and grumblers. Rules and benefits. The happy and the disgruntled. I’ve had the opportunity to witness some of the lifters on the recent SA Powerlifting Championship 2013.

The top guys are all supportive of each other, even though they sometimes compete for the same title/record. They’re humble and normal. Yes, I know that (as with all sport) there is also backstabbing, bitching and moaning. But overall, they’re the nicest group of men I’ve seen competing in a long time.

Well done to the General who they’re all in awe of. Who they revere by calling him Master. The Top Dog.

I am proud to know him. And by association, the powerlifters. And last (but at all not least) Graatjie, my maatjie. 😀

ButterNutter

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2013 in Post a day, Ramblings, Ravings

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Fandom? No, thank you.

  1. 68ghia

    July 14, 2013 at 9:24 am

    Have to say, sport does not play a major role in my life.
    Since I don’t have a working TV, there’s not much chance of me happening on a game of any kind.
    And really – I have better things to do than to watch a bunch of people running after a ball, or just running – makes me moeg just looking at them!

     
    • ButterNut

      July 16, 2013 at 9:48 am

      I’d much rather read an interesting book . . .

       
  2. Toortsie

    July 15, 2013 at 7:33 am

    Ek is ongelukkig NIE ‘n goeie sport-ondersteuner nie. Besig met my eie stappies, maar verder… ai, die Springbokke sal swak doen met ondersteuners soos ek!

     

Leave a Reply

 
